Pigfords Drag Z1000-Mk2

Posted: February 25, 2011 in Friends
Tags: ,

My friend Mark (pigford) has spent the winter months building a drag/sprint bike out of an old Kawasaki Z1000-Mk2…

Mk2 Drag Bike

I hope I can get him to tell us what has been done to the motor…

Z1000-Mk2

So, my 1980 Mk.II Sprint bike. Built for drag racing – 1/4 miles – mainly for enjoyment than a record breaker!
The basic motor is standard, gears and crank. The block is an Orient Express 1394cc and I have “dry blocked” it, which involves changing the top-end oil supply from internally up the rear, outer cylinder stud passages, to external lines direct into the end of the cams. The head is off an later (early 80′s) GPz1100 and has over size valves, been gasflowed and skimmed and converted from hy-vo to chain for the cam drive. I have fitted a 2-stage “lock-up” clutch and some period Mikuni VM33 smoothbore carbs.
Ignition is by Dynatek (USA) and also has a rev limiter, launch controller. Because I love all this technical stuff I couldn’t resist an air-shifter to play with.
Front end is GPz900 and the swingarm and 17″ wheels are Suzuki GSXR. The lovely paint set was off Kev (cheers matey) and the exhaust is NOS a Vance & Hines (USA) drag pipe off a friend!
If you’re still awake after reading that lot – I hope to have it ready for its first outing in early May, at Weston Zoyland, Somerset at the NSA sprint.

Comments
  1. Pigford says:

    Hi Kev – bit of a surprise seeing my bike on your site!
    So, my 1980 Mk.II Sprint bike. Built for drag racing – 1/4 miles – mainly for enjoyment than a record breaker!
    The basic motor is standard, gears and crank. The block is an Orient Express 1394cc and I have “dry blocked” it, which involves changing the top-end oil supply from internally up the rear, outer cylinder stud passages, to external lines direct into the end of the cams. The head is off an later (early 80’s) GPz1100 and has over size valves, been gasflowed and skimmed and converted from hy-vo to chain for the cam drive. I have fitted a 2-stage “lock-up” clutch and some period Mikuni VM33 smoothbore carbs.
    Ignition is by Dynatek (USA) and also has a rev limiter, launch controller. Because I love all this technical stuff I couldn’t resist an air-shifter to play with.
    Front end is GPz900 and the swingarm and 17″ wheels are Suzuki GSXR. The lovely paint set was off Kev (cheers matey) and the exhaust is NOS a Vance & Hines (USA) drag pipe off a friend!
    If you’re still awake after reading that lot – I hope to have it ready for its first outing in early May, at Weston Zoyland, Somerset at the NSA sprint.

    • Iain says:

      Bikes looking good Mark, it all fits together nicely. Might even get to see it in action one day as I am planning a trip down to watch some straightline action this year.

      • Pigford says:

        Latest update –

        Not a lot happening really, what with life getting in the way, like it does!!! The bike is now a runner, but needs a bit more fettling to get the carbs set up & theres has a slight oil weep (front cam chain tunnel). As I don’t want to go rushing things I’m now aiming at 2012 for the maiden run.

Leave a Reply

