Velocette, Norton’s & Plungers…

Posted: February 24, 2012 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Today was a good day, today was the first “build” day,  I now have a few parts, and today they started going together

I had the rear plunger rods machined, and so today I took the frame, plunger rods, springs, and covers, over to Mick’s place to get some help fitting them on the frame, Mick has a homemade spring compressor just for doing the plungers, a job that would be tough to do without the use of a spring compession tool.

Norton Plunger Suspension

 

Garden Gate Suspension

 

And when I got back home I fitted the headstock assembly with the new bearings that turned up this week. I also have the parts needed to put the Roadholder forks together, so things are moving in the right direction.

There was a nice Velocette there while I was getting the rear suspension fitted, and a Norton on the bench too.

 

Velocette 500

 

Norton Single

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Louis says:

    Great progress
    I have the Mike Pemberton engine strip and rebuild DVD which has some useful tips for your
    engine work. Drop me a mail if you want to borrow it.

  2. Christian Benger says:

    … what means “machined rear rods” on the gardengate Norton. I do race a 500 Inter gardengate from 1938. I´m looking for a solution to get a better roadgoing rearwheel, as well as the fork is moving nervous. Please let me know, what you did? All the best & thanks Christian, Austria

    • englandkev says:

      Hi Christian, I would love to see a couple of pictures of your Norton.

      We made the inner rods for the rear plungers, I never had a set. that is all “machined” means. But have you seen my other post regarding the “factory” add on?

    • englandkev says:

      The Norton factory also had problems with the rear suspension, and and modifyed it like this…

      https://backstreetthunder.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/a-norton-puzzle/

      If you look at other pictures of the racing garden gate Nortons, you will find a few that have added dampers to the rear suspension. This is also confirmed in one of the books, Roy Bacon’s I think.

Leave a Reply

