My Norton Project… Cont.

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Just Me
Tags: , , ,

My next job is to convert this old damaged Triumph conical hub into a Manx style single leading shoe race style hub, and although it won’t be correct in every detail, it will be close enough to give the look I am after.

Conical Hub

Conical Hub

First job is to remove all the fins from the outer edge, luckily this one was already damaged in this area, this may have helped in me getting it cheaply off of eBay, Then it will be away to be powder coated black, before I start to convert a Norton brake plate to fit.

My hub now stripped of the vanes, was today tidied up on a lathe ready for the next part of the operation, this is to have made and installed a set of cooling
fins just like you would have on a manx or inter, but it is not as easy as that, as you will see.
The first problem that you have to overcome, is leaving room to insert the spokes, and to make it look somewhere near “right” you will need at least two fins, but you only have 16mm to play with on the hub. So let’s see what I am talking about…

Well first we need to go and find some bikes, that have the correct hubs fitted, now that may be a little tricky in your neck of the woods, but for me, I just pop up the road….

Garden Gate Inter

Garden Gate Inter

International

International

So here is am International hub, as fitted to the Garden gate Inter above… Three fins, tapered hub, and crossover spoke pattern, I can’t afford one of these, even in the rare chance of one ever coming up for sale.

Inter Hub

Inter Hub

And here is the Inter brake plate, single leading shoe, small air scoop, just the look I am after, but I will have to make my own, out of a standard Norton SLS brake plate.

SLS Brake Plate

SLS Brake Plate

More Later…

Leave a Reply

