Old Bikes, Barn Finds, and metal Bashing…

Posted: June 9, 2013 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday (Saturday) was a Norton day, I have to split my time over different projects, or I would get nothing done. And as I had to pick up my hub from the machine shop, I spent the rest of the day in full on Norton mode. Now, I am really getting into the whole Norton vibe, the more time I spend around, and working on them, the more I come to appreciate what they are, and how they work.
So after collecting my hub, I dropped into the shop to see what was happening in old bike land…as usual there were one or two Norton’s floating about the place..

Norton Inter Clubman

Norton Inter Clubman

 

Norton Model 18

Norton Model 18

 

AJS

AJS

 

Also there this time was an old Dommie, pulled from a shed where it had languished unused since 1979…

Dommie 650

Dommie 650

1979 Time Warp

1979 Time Warp

Norton Dominator

Norton Dominator

So I gave the old thing a bit of a fettle, a good hot wash to remove some of the grime, I then removed the plugs, dropped the oil from the sump, before pouring it back into the tank, then kicked it through a few times to get it circulating. then it was a case of checking the carb filter, replacing the cork in the petrol tap, cleaning the points, and adding some fuel. Two kicks later it fired right up and sat ticking over like a watch.

 

Needs a Little Fettle

Needs a Little Fettle

Also in the yard, is a metal bashing shop, the young guys who work there, make alloy tanks and things, in fact they are hand making my Norton Inter tank. But they also have another unique talent, they hand beat alloy car bodies from scratch.

Here is their own hand built Austin Ten sports.

Austin 10

Austin 10

Austin Special

Austin Special

 

Leave a Reply

