A Little Norton Time…

Posted: August 17, 2013 in Just Me
Tags: , , ,

A day off! Hooray !

As I did indeed have a day to myself, I dedicated it to some Norton time, a project that has taken a backseat of late, due mainly to work, and sorting through the Guzzi problems.
So with a pocketful of ideas, I headed over to Norton central, to put some ideas into action. first on the list was to take some assorted jumble finds, and turn them into an International Clubman tacho assembly, well at least a copy of one.

Here is the real deal, in situ on a Norton inter clubman…

Norton Inter Dash

Norton Inter Dash

Now the real deals are hard to find, as you can probably imagine, but I picked up a Cafe Racer speedo holder from Kempton for £5-00, a while back, and a Smiths tacho a little later on, I then set to removing the center of the holder so the clock could fit in, I then made the rubber mounting rings. And finally put the whole lot together…

Tacho Mount

Tacho Mount

Tacho Mounting

Tacho Mounting

While I was there in the workshop I spotted a box with a nice little motor for sale, now I wonder if I need it?

Manx Engine

Manx Engine

yes it is a complete Norton Manx engine…

Manx

Manx

I have also been looking for a short Norton International Clubman rear brake pedal, they are a different shape to the Manx’s, or standard ES2 pedals, and are around 5″ shorter in length, I had mentioned this to Mick a while back, and he had found me a good well used one, from an old racing bike, so it comes with added patina.

Lastly I also picked up my 1948 competition engine today, and dropped that into the frame when I got home.

Clubman Project

Clubman Project

ES2 Clubman

ES2 Clubman

I will be stripping the frame down next though, as I have to get some mounts welded on to take the footpegs, I can then start building it up in earnest.

Leave a Reply

