Like Juggling Ferrets!…

Posted: August 28, 2013 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , ,

My Norton clubman project, I try to give it as much time as I can, but holding down a job, and sorting out my Guzzi Ambo, as well as keeping up with chores on the house and the BMW R80st, leaves me so little time, but I do my best. I guess with hindsight that I may have had a chance of getting it on the road this year, but I also really enjoy time out riding, so I am not too upset that it still needs so much work to get near the finish line.  But maybe it is not as much as it seems?

My next job is to convert this old damaged Triumph conical hub into a Manx style single leading shoe race hub, and although it won’t be correct in every detail, it will be close enough to give the look I am after.

Broken Fin, A good thing.

Broken Fin, A good thing.

I collected my rebuilt front wheel today, the hub is a little too glossy, but I hope it will dull down a little as it ages, it now also has a Norton brake plate that has been machined to fit, and some different bearings to match up the Triumph hub to the Norton spindle.

Conical Hub

Conical Hub

Rolling Chassis? Nearly

Rolling Chassis? Nearly

Front Wheel

Front Wheel

The brake plate still needs some work, it needs to be painted satin black, and an air scoop needs to be added, also the rim is not sitting centrally in the forks, so I shall have to get that adjusted, but these are small things, with some tubes and tyres I should have a rolling chassis by the end of the month. Well, if the ferrets play ball, that is!

Leave a Reply

