It’s A Scoop I Tells Ya!…

Posted: September 5, 2013 in Just Me
Tags: , , ,

Air scoops come in all shapes and sizes, some functional, some not, some have a little style, and some well let’s not mention those.

Ok then, now I have my front wheel built around the Triumph hub, it was time to think about getting a Norton brake plate to fit, some people will go down the Triumph/BSA conical hub TLS setup, these look great when done correctly, and give good braking with the twin leading shoe. Others will use the earlier Triumph TLS, these again look great, when done right, but I wanted “Old Style” so have gone for a SLS shoe Norton plate, Style over function I guess some would say. But single leading shoe brakes are great if set up correctly, and if you ride within their limitations.

The standard Norton plate needs a little machining to match up to the conical hub, but it is nothing too technical.

Brake Plate

Brake Plate

Machining

Machining

 

The next thing was to decide what type of scoop I wanted, time to hit the pictures…

I have often looked at this bike as a source of inspiration for the direction of my bike, and love the black hub with polished air scoop.

Norton Garden Gate

Norton Garden Gate

and of course my friend Mick’s Inter

International

International

Then you have something like this?

Scoop

Scoop

So I set too with a piece of card and some scissors, and came up with a suitable design..

Pattern

Pattern

Time to get out the shears as I transfer the plan to metal.

Cut Out Time

Cut Out Time

half an hour later and this was the result..

It's a Scoop

It’s a Scoop

First Fitting

First Fitting

Not too shabby if I say so myself, it now needs a good buff up on the polish wheel, and my brake plate needs drilling and turning black.

Not too shabby

Not too shabby

 

Leave a Reply

