Found this at Kempton… Yamaha TR1…

Posted: January 28, 2014 in Just Me
Tags: , , ,

Yamaha’s XV1000-TR1 has been on my radar for a couple of years now, not a common bike, but pretty cool with its big torquey 1000cc V-twin engine. I passed up buying one last year, but when I came across this beat up one at Kempton last Saturday, I thought I might take a chance to see if I can put it back on the road.

So my Yamaha XV1000-TR1 was delivered to my lock-up today, tell me what you think, money well spent?

41k on the clock, The fuel tank has a large dent in the front, the starter clutch is in a box of bits as supplied and it has aluminium handlebar grips fitted. That seems to be the worst of it as far as I can tell, on the plus side, stainless exhaust system (?) original keys, brakes all work, switchgear all seems to work, tyres are good, wheels are good, changes gear, not seized, good fork stanchions, and everything appears to be there.
I need a battery to check the electrics over, and I need to find out how to repair the starter clutch assembly. Any help out there?

So I guess it is time to show you the bike

XV1000-TR1

XV1000-TR1

Yamaha TR1

Yamaha TR1

Yamaha XV1000-TR1

Yamaha XV1000-TR1

I may move this on if anyone is interested in a project, they make fantastic cafe racers.

Comments
  1. Stephen Auty says:

    I have been looking for one too. If you want to sell it let me know.

    • englandkev says:

      Stephen I am waiting for the V5 to come back from Swansea, then I shall probably move it on. I already have one huge project with my Norton,
      I stuck a spare battery on it yesterday, and all the lights, horns, and brake switches work Ok, no indicators though, not sure why.

      Anyway if you are serious about buying, the bike is in Reading, you have a couple of weeks to think about it.

      • Stephen Auty says:

        Very serious, please please give me first refusal. I am wanting one to make into a cafe/bobber with solo seat.
        Sorry for not getting back , I was waiting for an email and couldn’t remember the site but I found it again. Wait to hear from you.
        Steve

      • englandkev says:

        I am not going to get around to doing anything with it so it will be going soon.

Leave a Reply

