Two Out, Two In….

Posted: October 4, 2015 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have a rule in my small lock-up, if something new comes along, then something already there has to go. I don’t have a lot of room, I don’t have a garden, I live on an old Barge on the river. So space of all kinds is a premium.

So this past month two bikes have had to go, the first out the door was the 72 Commando, a deal was done with this bike where I also got some work done on my ES2 Clubman project, so all good in that respect. And the fuel tank, and oil tank for the Clubman are both in the paint shop as this project once again moves forward.

The second to go was the TriBsa I did what I wanted to do with this bike, which was to get it going, and back on the road. It was time someone else took it over.

So what I hear you cry, did I replace them with? well let me tell you. The first was an old Guzzi LeMans 11, that I saw at the V-twin international rally. It is old, worn, and has high mileage. but it has amazing low down grunt, pulls like a train, and is fantastic fun to ride on a fast A road. I may need to sort out the ergonomics of this bike if it is to stay though, the riding position is all a little cramped for me. It could do with slightly wider bars, and maybe some rear sets. I shall see how I feel about it over the next few months.

Moto Guzzi LeMans 2

Moto Guzzi LeMans 2

In the Lock-up

In the Lock-up

850 LeMans

850 LeMans

The second bike is something I have always coveted, but never wanted to buy! Mainly due to the exotic nature of the beast, and the expense involved if it all went wrong. So when I got offered a running resto project I had to really think hard about it.

But bevel drive Ducati’s don’t come around every day, and as I have friends with the missing parts and lots of advice, I thought I would take a chance, especially as the price was good, and the motor sounds fantastic. So I now own another old Vee-twin, this time a 900SD Darmah. The bike has lots of history in the shape of all its MoT certificates, confirming the shown 18000 mileage as correct.

This bike really looks as though it needs a good winters clean up, and just a few parts. Headlight ring, tail light, indicators, grips, and a speedo. Which I already have thanks to a friend in London.

Ducati Darmah

Ducati Darmah

Ducati Bevel

Ducati Bevel

Ducati 900SD

Ducati 900SD

Comments
  1. Sven WDMYR says:

    Two brilliant choices! Good luck and fun with the Vees…

Leave a Reply

