Joining The Collection…

Posted: February 21, 2016 in Just Me
Tags: , , , , ,

Back in January I had a look at a 1962 Matchless G12 650 twin.  Well a week or so ago I managed to get a ride on the bike, and I have to say it was really quite good. So good in fact that I bought the bike. So this bike has now joined my little collection and I hope to get some good use out of it over the summer months. The AJS/Matchless club meet just three miles from me as well, so I shall drop in there when the evenings drag out a bit.

2016-02-14 13.44.26

62 Matchless G12

Matchless-001

Matchless 650

Matchless_005 copy

Matchless G12

And another bike has also joined the fleet, but this is really just a hack to be kept outside and used as a general runabout. Yesterday (Saturday) I dropped into my local garage, and they had this Sportster in as a trade sale, no frills, no warranty, just an old bike that needed to be moved on.  just as you see it here. we cleaned the carb, put some air in the tyres, and took it for a short ride. it starts, stops, everything works, and it doesn’t leak any oil.
Is it an 883 0r 1200? now there’s a question! it is registered as an 883, but the garage were told it had a 1200 upgrade, but without pulling the heads you can’t really tell. so I am happy with 883, it also has the usual Screamin Eagle stage one kit fitted. low milage too for a 1999 bike.

Sportster-001

Harley Sportster

sportster-002

Harley Hack

Leave a Reply

